February 2: Some Hunting Wives Thoughts
Feb. 2nd, 2026 10:40 pmUgh, I can NOT get my class out of my head. I have a lot of thoughts about it, especially the last bit where we talked about professionalism. Which is like definitely a complicated topic and worthy of thought but not after my 2.5 hour class ended over 90 minutes ago.
Anyway, I’m watching The Hunting Wives to distract myself. I plan on writing some more general thoughts when I finish the whole season but here are some rough reactions of the show so far. I’m currently midway through episode 6.
In no particular order:
- I greatly enjoy that this show does not take itself seriously and nor should it. It’s over the top, it’s dramatic, it has a strong color palette, and it’s fun.
- Salazar is SO underrated. She really could be the protagonist of a whole show.
- Who is the father of Nina’s baby and is this ever going to be relevant or important?
- The men in this show really ain’t shit though. Bradley is the worst offender. It’s because he’s not a man, he’s a teenage boy.
- Jamie gets a smidgen of a pass.
- I hope Margo is just, like, evil. Sometimes women should be evil. I get a lot out of that, in fiction.
- The first episodes are my favorites so far, and I suspect that will continue being true. I miss all the weighted scenes of intense flirtation.
- But I’m still enjoying watching.
- I also enjoy Sophie’s combination of wide-eyed earnestness and absolute hot mess-iness.
- ETA: Jill! “You get a snack and I will fix this [possibility you committed murder.]” Tbh, that’s kinda it. That’s the show.